table

This is a burr elm table that I made for an exhibition in Edinburgh which originally had some 10mm glass in the top. I designed the Ian Stephen poem Table (from the book Atoms of Delight, published by Pocketbooks) on four square pieces of extraordinary elm – very dense and much more interesting to carve than normal elm – which could be placed in the table as a sort of puzzle.     More recently I have mounted them on perspex. The poem was written in response to Ian commissioning another elm table and his perception of the grain, from his viewpoint as a sailor.

elm anticyclones, tight grain in deepening lows, occluded meetings

One Response to “table”

  1. Jim Hutcheson Says:

    Hello Roger,
    Just a small note to say how well your weblog a d work looks!
    I’m sorry I didn’t manage along to your show recently (meant to but family chores arose as is the way) many thanks for the invite.
    All the best,
    Jim H

Leave a comment